The Finale

NOTE:  It is April 2013, I have been home in Sydney, Australia for almost 3 years now and I couldn’t possibly do justice to the last few months of my adventure by trying to remember the details of what / who I encountered, and my associated thoughts and feelings.  I will bring my account to a close by sharing the photographic documentation of the remainder of my journey, as well as a few explanatory words.

Thanks for reading.

THE FINALE

Following Cappadocia, Mum and I made our way south to the turquoise coast where I had started my journey along the Mediterranean several weeks prior.  This time however, we traveled in a far more relaxed manner, stopping along the way to see the sights.   The highlights for me were definitely our exploration of various ancient Greek ruins, which offered an amazing window into a time long gone.

As always, Mum and I made great travel companions with me providing her with a youthful, semi-spontaneous touring experience, and her providing me with accommodation and meals several classes above what I had become accustomed to over the last two years.  In fact, in between gorging on typical Turkish meat-intensive meals several times a day and a lack of real exercise, it wasn’t long before I no longer looked like the spartan bicycle tourist I once did.  At a home-coming gathering a week or so later, a common comment was, “We thought you were going to be skinny!”

We eventually made it around to where Phil & Karel were now docked and the four of us enjoyed a wonderful week sailing across the Med and taking long walks on various Greek islands.

When it was time to go, it was very difficult to untie the King Brown and say goodbye to Tehani-Li and her crew; they’d provided me with the most perfect finale to the tour and I wish them all the best as they sail over the world’s waters.

Leave a Reply

