The Land of Fairy Chimneys

NOTE:  It is April 2013, I have been home in Sydney, Australia for almost 3 years now and I couldn’t possibly do justice to the last few months of my adventure by trying to remember the details of what / who I encountered, and my associated thoughts and feelings.  I will bring my account to a close by sharing the photographic documentation of the remainder of my journey, as well as a few explanatory words.

Thanks for reading.

THE LAND OF FAIRY CHIMNEYS

Mine and Mum’s second stop in our tour of Turkey was the awe-inspring central region of the country known as Cappadocia.  Like no other place I have ever seen in my life, the landscape is dominated by geological formations known as ‘fairy chimneys’, which are actually volcanic material that has been eroded by wind and rain over thousands of years.  The windows, doorways and cavernous rooms that have been carved into these formations by hand only make them all the more majestic.

Mum and I spent our days here doing walks and taking in the scenery, but the only real way to take it all in would prove to be from above in a hot air balloon.  Greeted by a perfectly clear blue sky on a chilly morning, the sight of these sandy teeth emerging from a sea of green earth was absolutely surreal.

Leave a Reply

