Vast Spaces

NOTE:  It is April 2013, I have been home in Sydney, Australia for almost 3 years now and I couldn’t possibly do justice to the last few months of my adventure by trying to remember the details of what / who I encountered, and my associated thoughts and feelings.  I will bring my account to a close by sharing the photographic documentation of the remainder of my journey, as well as a few explanatory words.

Thanks for reading.

VAST SPACES

This part of my journey saw me travel to Esfahan.  This ancient city is the third largest in Iran and has been widely regarded as the most beautiful city in the middle east for several hundred years.  You’ll see from the photos below why this is the case.

In an effort to make it to the Mediterranean coast in time to meet my Aunt Karel and Uncle Phil who are on a world-wide sailing trip, I caught a bus through the vast, largely desolate central part of Iran to the north western town of Tabriz.  From here, I cycled several hundred mountainous kilometres to the Turkish border.

Leave a Reply

